A Story from a special friend - Reisverslag uit Ubombo, Zuid-Afrika van HendrikaTaekema - WaarBenJij.nu A Story from a special friend - Reisverslag uit Ubombo, Zuid-Afrika van HendrikaTaekema - WaarBenJij.nu

A Story from a special friend

Door: Lourika

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

13 Mei 2014 | Zuid-Afrika, Ubombo

Dit verhaal is geschreven door Lourika. Zij gaf mij dit de laatste dag dat ik met haar samenwerkte.

A midwifery student nurse from Belgium joined us in our little rural hospital in Ubombo. This is how our friendship started and I wanted to show her my family life. She was here to work and not just to have fun but there is always time for a little fun. I grabbed the opportunity to take her home with me when we were off together for three days. My home is in Hluhluwe and after work we took the long drive home. I introduced her to my Mom and Dad and they instantly accepted her as one of the family and from there on always welcomed in our house.
Day 1 we went to Hluhluwe game reserve where she was very excited to see all the animals and kept on asking ‘can I take a picture’.
Day 2 we went to Richardsbay to go for a little shopping and to show her a private hospital in Richardsbay. She couldn’t belief the difference between the private hospital and provincial hospitals and again she had to take a picture. In Holland stories was told that if you wear a short skirt or pants you will be raped so she didn’t bring anything short and as she has seen this was not true she wanted to get something comfortable in this hot weather. All Stars shoes were a must as it was much cheaper here. I couldn’t stop laughing when she fit a jacket and came out of the fitting room with her neck extended and face barely showing asking me to please help her as she is stuck and she will rather not buy the jacket as its poor quality.
Day 3 was a relaxing day and we packet to go back to work.
We worked together and I learned a lot from her. Our next 3 days off together she came home with me again on our way there was a snake in the road and I had to stop for a picture. Arriving at home there was a bat and we caught it and let it free. When a big bug tries to come and sit on me and I screamed and run Hendrika followed me with the word if you are scared I must be very scared. She made me laugh a lot with small things that she says. Hendrika went on night duty and I stayed on day duty and we didn’t see each other that much but we couldn’t wait for a weekend we requested of together so that I can introduce her to my mother’s big family in the Freestate. Finally after 8 days of working the weekend arrived. On the way to the Freestate she appreciated our beautiful landscapes. We stopped in Newcastle where she met my uncle and aunt and we had a small breakfast and coffee. She liked there house. The next stop was Memel at another aunt were we ate pineapple guava and fresh apples. Finally we arrived in Villiers our destination. There were a lot of people coming so we prepared the beds and mattresses for everyone. We then went to pick some prickly pears my favoured fruit. Every night we were sitting around the fire and shared some stories. Everyone was amazed by the big fish that was caught by Hendrika's boyfriend.
The next day was a busy day and we had a planned stork party we had to attend at 12:00. After getting dressed and ready for the stork party my dad decided that he wants to show Hendrika how they harvest the corn and I in a dress had to get on the back of the bakkie. At night the men decided that it’s a great idea to go hunting some porcupine. I can’t explain how cold it was on the back of the bakkie. The only thing that was showing was my eyes and I was still freezing.
Sunday we went in to bakkies to go for a game drive on another farm and we went for desert at my uncle in Cornelia.
Monday was the trip back home and Wednesday back to work again. I not good with goodbyes and it will be sad when you go, but I know I have made a friend for life. Thanks for the good times and this few weeks has been some of the most special ones in my life.

  • 13 Mei 2014 - 14:35

    Carolien (kaaariii):

    Geweldig, wat heb ik weer in een deuk gelegen haha. Klinkt als Hendrika en dat je het enorm naar je zin hebt en lekker jezelf kan zijn!!! Ik ben nog steeds jaloers op je en vind het super wat je daar allemaal doet en meemaakt. Keep up the good work!! Take care ❤️ En genieten met je ouders en je mannetje. Liefs Caro

  • 13 Mei 2014 - 14:52

    Gemma:

    great story really sounds like hendrika it's always fun being with her
    thanx for showing her a great time!
    chickie ben zo trots op jou zal niet meevallen t afscheid maar ben blij als ik weer bij je ben.hopelijk volgend jr weer naar afrika met zn 4en!!!
    iig lekker samen reizen luv you!!!!!

  • 13 Mei 2014 - 15:24

    Tas:

    Wat een fanatastich mooi verhaal geschreven. Zie het zo afspelen terwijl ik het lees. Hahaha! Super lief dat ze dit zo jou heeft geschreven. It sound like a real South African Adventure! Xxxxx

  • 13 Mei 2014 - 16:59

    Ria:

    Hendrika, dat het klikte met Lourika was meteen duidelijk! Maar dit verhaal ontroert me ongelooflijk. Het geeft zo goed weer van welke enorme gastvrijheid jij hebt mogen genieten!
    Geef Lourika een dikke knuffel en bedank haar ook namens mij voor de zorg voor jou!
    Greetz,
    Ria

  • 13 Mei 2014 - 17:11

    Britt:

    Super verhaal! En heel erg leuk dat Lourika dit heeft geschreven!
    Was ik nu maar met je meegegaan haha, maar dat is altijd achteraf!
    Veel plezier met Gert en je ouders en tot snel chickieeee xx

  • 13 Mei 2014 - 17:35

    Helma:

    Dear Lourika, thanks for the friendship! By you she felt at home in South Africa! Thanks for the hospitality! Thank you for everything! XxHelma

Verslag uit: Zuid-Afrika, Ubombo

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

13 Mei 2014

A Story from a special friend

06 Mei 2014

Time flies when you're having fun.

15 April 2014

SAWUBONA

Actief sinds 01 April 2015
Verslag gelezen: 1507
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4487

Voorgaande reizen:

01 April 2015 - 31 December 2015

Mijn eerste reis

18 Maart 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: